30th NIRA Almuni Reunion

by Rodeo News

courtesy of Don Reichert

The 30th Reunion Celebration of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association Alumni (NIRAA) was held at the Ramkota Hotel and Conference Center, Casper, Wyoming, Friday, June 17, 2022. The reunion was in conjunction with the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association (NIRA) College National Finals Rodeo (CNFR) at the Ford Wyoming Center. College rodeo athletes from 11 regions competed for team and individual national championships, June 12-18, 2022.
Approximately 40 people attended the reunion and luncheon. Current NIRAA board members were introduced and a short history of the NIRAA was presented.
Past champions and team members from years ending in “2” were introduced and each gave a short presentation of their college rodeo experience and their life after college rodeo. Roy Lilly was a member of the 1952 NIRA Colorado A and M (Colorado State University) Champion Men’s Team. Fred Wilson was the 1962 NIRA Champion Bareback Rider rodeoing for the University of Wyoming and a member of 1961 University of Wyoming NIRA Champion Men’s Team. Martha Jordan was a member 1972 NIRA Eastern New Mexico State University Champion Women’s Team, 1971 NIRA Barrel Racing Champion, and member of the
1971 NIRA Tarleton State University Champion Women’s Team.
Four members and the coach of the 1972 NIRA Champion Men’s Team from Montana State University attended the reunion. Jock McDowell was the 1972 and 1973 NIRA Saddle Bronc Riding Champion and member of the MSI team. Lynn Perry was 1972 NIRA Steer Wrestling Champion and a member of the MSU team. Tom Holland and Pat Greany were also members of 1972 MSU team. Sandy Gagnon was their coach.
David Fournier, McNeese State University, was the 1982 NIRA Rookie of the Year and the NIRA Runner up Bull riding Champion.
Christi Braudrick, Southeast Oklahoma State University and NIRA Alumni Board Member, was recognized as the 2022 NIRAA Alumnus of the Year.
Sharon Adams was recognized as a Special Award recipient for her contributions to the NIRA Alumni.
Other recipients of the Special Award but unable to attend, were Evelyn Kingsbury and Sylvia Mahoney.
Wally Badgett, 1971 NIRA Champion Bull Rider and 1974 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association National Finals competitor, entertained the attendees after lunch with his cowboy philosophy and cowboy stories.

© Rodeo Life Media Corporation | All Rights Reserved • Laramie, Wyoming • 307.761.9053

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin