2022 NIRA Alumni Honorees

by Courtesy

The NIRA Alumni will honor all past NIRA national champions, championship teams, top finishers, queens, coaches, and  faculty and student presidents from the years ending in “2” at the reunion on Friday, June 17 with registration at 8:45 am.  Please note the correct dates.  The 30th Reunion will be at the Ramkota Hotel and Conference Center, Casper, Wyoming, Friday and Saturday, June 17 and 18, 2022   Please help notify the champions listed below.  Some are deceased, so family or friends are welcome to represent them at the reunion. Reservations for the Friday reunion and luncheon ($25) need to be made by June 6 at niraainfo@gmail.com or call 210-415-9091.


1952 Champions   Team: Colorado A&M, Bareback: Dick Barrett, OKAM;  Saddle Bronc: Joe Chase, H-SU;  Calf Roping: F.C. Stover, NMAM;  Ribbon Roping: Art Fulkerson, WASt;  Steer Wrestling: Don Driggers, NMAM;  Bull Riding: Johnny Ackely, Sul Ross;  All-Around: Dick Barrett, OKAM.

   1962 Champions   Men’s Team: Sul Ross State;  Women’s Team: Sul Ross State;  Bareback: Fred Wilson, UWY;  Saddle Bronc: Ed Workman, LCCTX;  Calf Roping: ½. Billy James, Sul Ross, ½, Dub Cox, NMU-LC;  Ribbon Roping: Bill James, Sul Ross;  Steer Wrestling: Sonny Ehr, UAZ;  Bull Riding: George Eads, Sul Ross;  Barrel Race: Lorraine Taylor; Goat Tying: Donna Jean Saul, Sul Ross;  Men’s All-around: Ed Workman, Lubbock Christian College;  Women’s All-around: Donna Jean Saul, Sul Ross State.

   1972 Champions    Men’s Team:  Montana State University, Women’s Team: Eastern New Mexico University, Bareback: Robert Schall, MTSt, Saddle Bronc: Jock McDowell, MTSt, Calf Roping: Danny Torricellas, BlMTN, Ribbon Roping: Dean Perkins, MTSt, Steer Wrestling: Lynn Perry, MTSt, Bull Riding: LaMar Roche, RICKS, Barrel Race: Becky Fullerton, BlMtn, Goat Tying: Wendy Bryan, UAZ, Break-away:  Betty Cooper, ENMU, Men’s All-around: Dave Brock, SCSC, Women’s All-around: Linda Munns, USU.

   1982 Champions   Men’s Team: Sul Ross State University, Women’s Team: Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Bareback: Thom Hickey, EFIELD, Saddle Bronc: Chuck Morris, HARTNL,  Calf Roping:  Jim Zant, WTEX, Team Roping: Allen Gill, CAPSLO,  Steer Wrestling: Ross Rianda, HARTNL  Bull Riding: Scott Breding, MILES,  Barrel Race: Lori McNeil, UTAHST, Goat Tying: Linda O’Neal, UARIZ, Break-away Roping: Sabrina Pike, SEOKS, Men’s All-around: Cody Lambert, SLROSA, Women’s All-around:  Sabrina Pike, SEOKS.

   1992 Champions   Men’s Team:  Southwestern Oklahoma State Univ.,   Women’s Team: Walla Walla Community College,  Men’s All Around: Casey Biar Minton, West Hills College, Women’s All Around: Penny Conforth, Walla Walla Community College, Saddle Bronc: Michael Giannini, Idaho State University, Bareback: Shawn Ross Vant, Montana State University, Bull Riding: Jerome Carson Davis, Odessa College, Calf Roping: Chad David Hiatt, Panhandle State University, Steer Wrestling:  Jesse Duane Peterson, Western Montana College, Team Roping:  Seth Alan Weishaar, South Dakota State University, Barrel Racing: Mindy Lin Morris, Texas A&M University, Breakaway Roping:  Brenda Lynne Mays, Walla Walla Community College, Goat Tying: Lana Marie Tibbetts, Montana State University.

   2002 Champions    Men’s Team: College of Southern Idaho, Women’s Team: Texas A&M University, Men’s All Around: Cody J Demers, College of Southern Idaho, Women’s All Around: Jonlyn M Vaccaro, University of Nevada-Las Vegas,  Saddle Bronc Riding: Cody S Martin, Missouri Valley College, Bareback Riding: Colby J Olsen, Northwest College,  Bull Riding: William G Farrell, Chadron State College, Calf Roping:  Trent L Creager, Oklahoma State University  Steer Wrestling:  Samuel C MacKenzie, Walla Walla Community College,  Team Roping:  Colt A Braden, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College, Wendall W Stanley, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College,  Barrel Racing:  McKenzie Miller, Ricks College, Breakaway:   Keli J Smith, New Mexico Junior College  Goat Tying: Jonlyn M Vaccaro, University of Nevada-Las Vegas.

   2012 Champions: Men’s Team: Walla Walla Community College,  Women’s Team: Texas Tech University-Lubbock, Men’s All Around: Bryce K Palmer, Walla Walla Community College, Women’s All Around:  Hayden S Segelke, Northeastern Junior College.  Saddle Bronc Riding:  Tyrel C Larsen, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Bareback Riding: Tanner K Aus, Missouri Valley College,  Bull Riding: Taggert J Elliott, Utah Valley University,  Tie Down Roping: Chant J DeForest, Western Oklahoma State College, Steer Wrestling: Benjamin T Carson, Utah Valley University, Team Roping  Tyler J Schnaufer, University of Wyoming, Shay D Carroll, Northeastern Junior College,  Barrel Racing: Liz A Combs, Sam Houston State University,  Breakaway Roping: Joey L Painter, Black Hills State University, Goat Tying: Lacey L Tech, Central Wyoming College.

Related Articles

                © Rodeo Life Media Corporation | All Rights Reserved • Laramie, Wyoming • 307.761.9053

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin